I had a dream last night that my sister and I were trying to pack up into Mom and Dad’s car on the side of a snowy mountain with an avalanche on its way.  I think it was a symbolic vision of what this next week preparing for school and our new apartment is going to look like.  I’m only sort of kidding.

I actually got up at a reasonable hour this morning.  Go me.  First thing, I got all my laundry done for the week.

Then I did my daily music practice.  I tried practicing with my sister this time.  I don’t even mean this in an arrogant way, because I started learning music a lot earlier than she did, but I think I intimidated her with my higher level of skill.  So it’s better that we practice alone.  But she seems to have gone back to not practicing.  I just told her I’m here if she ever needs help.

On the plus side, I think I’ve mastered and memorized all of this week’s music lessons.

We had oatmeal for brunch.  After brunch I planned the decoration of my upcoming apartment bedroom.  For the first time this school year, I won’t be sharing a bedroom!  We’re moving into a two-bed, two-bath!  I’m so excited, guys!  A bedroom and a bathroom all to myself!  A de-cluttered living room and kitchen!

I texted a close friend for a while, and tried an episode of Borgia on Netflix.  Then I snacked shamelessly and read this week’s Entertainment Weekly issue, finishing the fall movie preview before handing it off to Mom.

After that came a big sweater, a late afternoon tea, and a book (the one about the slums of Mumbai, Behind the Beautiful Forevers).

I also called my grandfather today for money-related help with buying college textbooks for fall semester.  Putting me and my sister through college is such a family effort that it’s a little embarrassing sometimes, to be honest.  I’m not embarrassed of my parents – more of the whole situation of having to ask other people for money.  Someday I’ve promised myself I won’t have to do that.  I have too strong a sense of independence and it always makes me feel like I’m in other people’s debt.

Between preparing for textbooks this week and also planning to move into our new apartment this week, school is fast approaching.  We’re on our way.

