My sister and I had our music lesson over Skype today.

See, we are currently living with our parents while we’re in between apartments, but our music teacher is back at our college town a few places over.  So I proposed that we try doing a music lesson over Skype.  Why not, right?  So crazy it just might work.

And work it did.  Surprisingly well, in fact.  Doc gave me more of an understanding of the sheet music to our vocal exercises.  He also taught us the finger picking version of the same two chords we’ve been practicing, and he told us to practice both finger picking and strumming, and to keep practicing our vocal exercises along with the sheet music.

My sister and I told Doc about our disabilities – my bipolar disorder, for example – and he was very supportive.  He is going to try to accommodate us and had some interesting ideas for us to try.

I also wrote two poems today.  I’m trying to build up my portfolio of original writing by concentrating on my poetry more.  So far I have a selection of about twelve poems that I really, really like.

I love poetry, because right now I’m more of a short form writer.  I’m good at conveying a big idea in several lines of description, and that’s what poetry is all about.  Usually I can write a poem in under an hour.  Then I go back and touch up the original work later.  Poetry writing is very easy and intuitive for me.  It’s coming up with new content every day and making it non cliche that’s the hard part.

I’m not posting my poetry online because I don’t want it stolen and I don’t want to ruin my chances of eventually getting published.  Sorry.

I’ll be studying fiction writing and business over this coming school year, along with continuing music.  And after that I’ll just be all set.  Businesswoman/artist, here I come!

My family left for a while, so I enjoyed the house to myself again.  I sent my closest friend a just-because, “I care about you” text.  I read more of my current book – Emancipated by M.G. Reyes.  And I realized I finally have enough “wants” to start a birthday and Christmas wish list!  Right now my list consists of:

  • The Second Sex by Simone de Beauvoir
  • The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan
  • A book on guitar playing that Doc recommended to me
  • Harley Quinn merchandise and goodies

I introduced the two feminist books to my sister and she’s promised to read them with me.  I’ve gotten her into a lot of stuff – from books to music to movies to comics and cartoons.

Speaking of getting people into things, I finally got to show my mother and sister the first episode of Stranger Things – surprise, surprise, they really like it and want to continue.  So that’s something we’ll be able to do together over the next few weeks.

All in all, it’s been a good day.  And we’re having a nice big home-cooked meal tonight!

 

