I found solitary release hanging around in my bedroom wearing my bathrobe today.  Some of my best days are when I’m alone at home.  I love solitude and cozy little hideaways; even when I’m at school, I’ll find corners to sit at where no one else is.

I took care of some phone calls.  I called and arranged things for later this week with my music instructor and the local gym.

I had reason to lovingly go over some old childhood books today.  I’ve kept so many books and journals from my childhood it’s insane.

A friend called me to say she bought me Harry Potter and the Cursed Child!  Isn’t that sweet?  My sister also brought me back a cookie from Subway, so people are just full of gifts for me today.

I had a bowl of cereal for lunch.  Very filling and healthy, I know.

I started my new read today.  The book is Emancipated by M.G. Reyes.  Here’s the summary:

The bad boy, the good girl, the diva, the hustler, the rocker, and the nerd.  Six teens legally liberated from parental control for six different reasons, but all with one thing in common: something to hide.

Secret # 1: Not everyone is who they seem.

Now they’re sharing a house in Venice Beach, acting like a family, and living their lies.  One witnessed a crime, another might be a murderer – and one’s been spying on them all.

Secret # 2: Freedom isn’t free.

As they cling to a fantasy of freedom and slowly let down their guard, the past creeps up on them.  And when one of them gets arrested, everyone’s carefully constructed facade comes crumbling down.

Secret # 3: The truth will come out.

Scandal, romance, treachery, and murder – and no one to clean up their messes.  Emancipated is the first book in a blistering guessing game of a series where relationships are tested and the truth has a nasty habit of showing up uninvited.

I don’t know if I’ll continue with the series.  Let’s see what I think of the first book first.  A book has to really impress me to want me to continue it through several stories.

One thing I like so far is that they’ve avoided cliche characters, despite what the summary seems to imply.  You can really relate to all of them on a human level.  The book switches point of view, from one teen to the next, already with ominous stirrings of pasts that must catch up to them.

After reading, I did more solo guitar and vocal practice.  I think I have what Doc assigned us for this week mastered.

And, later, my sister finally decided to sit down and do a practice session under her own power.  I helped her out when she needed it, and in the process I learned I know more than I thought I did about the guitar from previous lessons.  I can tune one to a rough approximation of correct without help, so hooray for that, I can press down on the strings and make sound more successfully than she can, and I’m good at changing between chords without pausing.  Just basic stuff like that.

So I guess that’s what I got from one year’s worth of guitar lessons.  Maybe in my second year I can actually start sounding like a musician.  I’m far from a genius, but I work at practice every day and I really love music.  Hopefully that’s what’s important.

After music practice was over for the day, I watched another episode of Stranger Things on Netflix.  Whee, everything’s finally coming together…!  I’m really enjoying that series.

I’m feeling a little low, so I think I’ll go for a walk.  Get the endorphin rush as a pick me up.

