This was my Tweet today, sort of referring to all the craziness going on in the world right now:

“Vote in your elections. Be a good person. Follow your heart. Spread love and tolerance to all. That’s all you have to do, and all you can.”

What I mean by that is, I think a lot of people get caught up in their own minds and anxieties.  They obsess over what’s going wrong.  The way I see the world is really quite different.  I eternally see the world as it truly is, not as better or worse than it is, and I strive to see the good parts in that reality.

I do not overthink bad situations.  I do not let myself get caught up in that cycle of negative thought.

I focus on the present moment.  So when I lose someone, for example, I dwell on today, not yesterday when the person was here – I make new rituals to replace those I had with that person.  It’s my way of coping.  When something horrible happens, I do what I can in the moment and then move on without thinking about it too much.  When I feel some anxiety about tomorrow, I make a plan for tomorrow and then forget about it.

So when I hear in the news that people have died, I think, “That’s really sad.  What can I do about it?”  And most of the time, all I can do is be loving and preach tolerance.  So I do that, and then I move on.  No dwelling on death is necessary.

My psychological advice would be, if bad things start to overwhelm you, take the biggest break you can from life for a while.  Live in the present and don’t overthink anything too much.  Then go back to what you were doing.  A tired, stressed-out person is of no use to anyone.

The universe and many other people throughout history have survived things much worse than this.  Remember that.  We can get through anything, as long as we try our hardest to better the world.

And that’s all each of us has to do, and all we can do.  Is try our hardest.  So try not to worry about what’s outside your control too much.  Do not dwell on negativity and death.

